When you pray…

Image by David Binnig http://www.childrensillustratedbible.com/jonah.htm

Image by David Binnig

Yesterday at church, one of my pastors spoke on Jonah 2, and I cannot get his sermon out of my head. At this point in the narrative, Jonah has fled from God, been tossed off the ship, swallowed by the big fish, and has been sitting in the fish for three days and three nights. It isn’t until this point that Jonah cries out to God. In Matthew 6, Jesus explains to his disciples how to pray, but Jonah 2 gives another good outline.

Jonah’s prayer begins in distress. Later, he mentions that he remembered the Lord. He ends his prayer in thanksgiving. In I Thessalonians 5:16-22, Paul gives the church at Thessalonica several commands, the second one being to “pray continually“.

My pastor concluded that Christians should pray when we are in distress, with remembrance and thanksgiving, continually, and that there is never a wrong time to pray.

I’m not sure why this particular sermon has stuck with me so much, but I hope I can implement into my life and that it can encourage others as well. If anyone wants to listen to the sermon, you can find it on audio here.

Leave a Reply

